top of page
Untitled design (2).png

Anne Boleyn, An Illustrated Life of Henry VIII's Queen by Roland Hui




Description


'If you remember my love in your prayers as strongly as I adore you, I shall hardly be forgotten, for I am yours,' - Henry Rex, forever


Written by King Henry VIII to his sweetheart, the seductive and vivacious Anne Boleyn, his passion for her would be so great that Henry would make Anne his queen, and change the course of English history.


But the woman whom Henry had promised to love for all time would go from palace to prison, charged with heinous crimes. Her life ended on a bloody scaffold in the Tower of London.


Explore the incredible story of Anne Boleyn, the most famous and controversial of Henry VIII's six wives, in this exciting new account of her life told in words and pictures.



 


Review


Disappointed. I thought 'An Illustrated Life...' would mean just that, an illustrated life story.


There are images relevant to the times and events of Anne's life but not illustrations/pictures in the sense that I inferred from the title. I thought this would have drawings/pictures to bring to life the details of Anne Boleyn's story.


Aside from my misconception regarding the imagery that would be inside the book, I found the writing to be simplistic, a little disjointed, and full of question.


I feel that if you are new to Anne Boleyn and have picked up a physical copy of this book, that you have flicked through and are aware of the 'illustrations' used, then this book would be an ok read.


The publisher really missed a trick here, a true illustrated life of any figure from the Tudor period would be fantastic, even with below par writing!!

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page